Skip to content

LMTA Foundation Reveals 2023 Louisiana Fleet Safety Award Winners

LMTA Foundation Reveals 2023 Louisiana Fleet Safety Award Winners

2023 Fleet Safety Award Winners

The LMTA Foundation, in partnership with Great West Casualty Company, named 19 division winners in the 2023 Louisiana Fleet Safety Awards. These awards stress the importance of safety, recognize professionalism, and focus on the principles behind safe driving programs, according to the LMTA.

“The LMTA Foundation is immensely proud to recognize these companies and their programs,” said Renee Amar, executive director of the LMTA Foundation. “This program is an opportunity to reward and recognize the professional efforts of these businesses who are working to make our state’s highways safer.”

The top three winning companies in each of the 13 mileage and cargo-based divisions had the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles annually. All companies will be recognized during the Truck Safety Awards on March 4, 2023, at the Renaissance Baton Rouge. Awards for Most Improved and the overall President’s Award will be announced during the banquet, with all fleet category winners being considered.


President’s Award: 

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.

Most Improved:

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.

Under 1 million: Hazardous/Tank:

  • 1st place: Freedom Trucks
  • 2nd place: O’Neal Gas, Inc.
  • 3rd place: Newman Transport

Under 1 million: Misc.

  • 1st place: Red Guard
  • 2nd place: River City Ready Mix

Under 1 million: General Commodities Truckload

  • 1st place: New South Express

Under 1 million: Household Goods

  • 1st place: American Moving and Storage

1,000,000-3,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Groendyke Transport, Inc.
  • 2nd place: Hercules Transport, Inc.

1,000,000-3,000,000: Misc.

  • 1st place: Sabel Steel Baton Rouge
  • 2nd place: D&J Construction Co.

1,000,000-3,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: ABF Freight

3,000,000-6,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Ergon Trucking Inc.

6,000,000-9,000,000: Misc.

  • 1st place: Dupre Logistics

6,000,000-9,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Dupre Logistics

9,000,000-12,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

12,000,000-20,000,000: General Commodities Truckload

  • 1st place: C&S Wholesale Service Inc.
  • 2nd place: Walmart Transportation

12,000,000-20,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: Fedex Freight

2023 Louisiana Safety Professional of the Year

Safety Professional of the Year is awarded to a deserving person responsible for supervising the safety activities of a truck fleet. This person is of high moral character and has devoted his/her career to the field of highway and industrial safety. 

  • Kenny Stocks, R Group II

2023 Louisiana Truck Driver of the Year

A driver may be nominated for a long record of safe and courteous driving, an outstanding deed of heroism or highway courtesy, and/or for an outstanding contribution to highway safety. The Driver of the  Year will be featured on the cover of Open Road magazine and billboards around the state during National Truck Driver Appreciation Week.

  • Nelson Landry, South Louisiana Community College


Powered By GrowthZone