Skip to content

2023 Trucking Safety Awards

2023 Trucking Safety Awards

Saturday, March 4, 2023


Our Trucking Awards Banquet will be held on March 4, 2023, where we will announce the winners of our 2023 Truck Driving Championships and celebrate the honorees of our Fleet Safety Awards, Safety Professional and Truck Driver of the Year programs. The dress code for the awards banquet is Sunday's best. 

Banquet registration is of no cost but must be done by emailing  if you are not already attending with a participating company. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the LMTA office.


Renaissance Hotel Baton Rouge

  • 6:00 - 7:00 PM | Cocktail Reception 
  • 7:00 - 8:30 PM | Awards Banquet 


Presented by: Great West Casualty Company

The Fleet Safety Awards are an annual recognition for carriers operating in the State of Louisiana with the best safety record in its class. This is an opportunity to reward the professional efforts of our trucking members who help make our state’s highways safe. This competition stresses the importance of safety, recognizes professionalism, and focuses on the principles behind safe driving.

President’s Award: 

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.

Most Improved:

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.

Under 1 million: Hazardous/Tank:

  • 1st place: Freedom Trucks
  • 2nd place: O’Neal Gas, Inc.
  • 3rd place: Newman Transport

Under 1 million: Misc.

  • 1st place: Red Guard
  • 2nd place: River City Ready Mix

Under 1 million: General Commodities Truckload

  • 1st place: New South Express

Under 1 million: Household Goods

  • 1st place: American Moving and Storage

1,000,000-3,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Groendyke Transport, Inc.
  • 2nd place: Hercules Transport, Inc.

1,000,000-3,000,000: Misc.

  • 1st place: Sabel Steel Baton Rouge
  • 2nd place: D&J Construction Co.

1,000,000-3,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: ABF Freight

3,000,000-6,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Ergon Trucking Inc.

6,000,000-9,000,000: Misc.

  • 1st place: Dupre Logistics

6,000,000-9,000,000: Tank/Hazardous Materials

  • 1st place: Dupre Logistics

9,000,000-12,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

12,000,000-20,000,000: General Commodities Truckload

  • 1st place: C&S Wholesale Service Inc.
  • 2nd place: Walmart Transportation

12,000,000-20,000,000: General Commodities LTL

  • 1st place: Fedex Freight

2023 Louisiana State Troopers of the Year

Each year, this award recognizes officers for outstanding commitment to safety, willingness to work with the trucking industry, exceptional work record, and personal work ethics.  

2023 Troopers of the Year


Safety Professional of the Year is awarded to a deserving person responsible for supervising the safety activities of a truck fleet. This person is of high moral character and has devoted his/her career to the field of highway and industrial safety. 

2023 Louisiana Safety Professional of the Year 

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.


A driver may be nominated for a long record of safe and courteous driving, an outstanding deed of heroism or highway courtesy, and/or for an outstanding contribution to highway safety. The Driver of the  Year will be featured on the cover of Open Road magazine and billboards around the state during National Truck Driver Appreciation Week.

2023 Louisiana Truck Driver of the Year 

  • To be announced during the Awards Banquet.
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
7000 Bluebonnet Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70810 United States
Saturday, March 4, 2023
Powered By GrowthZone